FreeStyle Libre 3 Plus vs Dexcom G7: What Each Maker Says
Both are prescription CGMs from different makers. The Libre 3 Plus lasts 15 days with a 60-minute warm-up; the Dexcom G7 comes as a 10-day sensor (30-minute warm-up) and a 15 Day sensor (60-minute warm-up). The table sets out each maker’s own statements. We do not pick a winner: the right choice depends on your treatment, pump, phone and coverage.
Side by side
| Fact | FreeStyle Libre 3 Plus | Dexcom G7 and G7 15 Day |
|---|---|---|
| Prescription or over the counter | Prescription | Prescription |
| Who it is for (maker) | Cleared for people with diabetes, age 2 and older | G7 (10-day): people two years and older with any type of diabetes. G7 15 Day: adults 18 and older with type 1, type 2 or gestational diabetes. |
| Wear time | 15 days | G7: 10 days plus a 12-hour grace period. G7 15 Day: 15 days plus a 12-hour grace period |
| Warm-up | 60 minutes | G7: 30 minutes. G7 15 Day: 60 minutes |
| Phone and app | Abbott's comparison page does not state phone requirements; check Abbott's app compatibility page before buying. | Dexcom's G7 app page lists a minimum of iOS 18.6.0 or Android 13 (as read on 2026-10-22). A separate Dexcom receiver exists. |
| Insulin pump / AID compatibility (maker) | Omnipod 5, t:slim X2, iLet Bionic Pancreas, twiist. Abbott lists these as authorized AID systems. | Omnipod 5 (15 Day), iLet Bionic Pancreas (15 Day), t:slim X2 (15 Day). Dexcom's provider FAQ lists these for the 15 Day sensor and says Tandem Mobi compatibility is “coming soon”. Dexcom says the G7 connects to “a wide range of compatible pumps”; check dexcom.com/compatibility for the full current list. |
| Price (maker) | No list price on Abbott's pages. Commercially insured or uninsured patients asked to pay more than $75 for two sensors can use Abbott's copay card. The card is not available to Medicare, Medicaid or other federal or state program members. | Dexcom publishes no cash price. Its coupon says “Save $210+ on every 30-day supply of sensors” for people without CGM coverage or with a high copay, and requires a prescription. Dexcom's G7 page says most covered patients pay $20 or less per month. |
| Medicare | Abbott states the Libre 3 and Libre 3 Plus sensor and reader are eligible for Medicare reimbursement for people who meet Medicare's criteria. Abbott does not guarantee payment or coverage. | Medicare coverage follows the CMS rules on the Medicare page (insulin-treated or problematic low blood sugar, prescription, visit within six months). We found no Dexcom statement that changes this. |
Each fact is from the maker’s own pages, checked FreeStyle Libre 3 Plus: 2026-10-22; Dexcom G7 and G7 15 Day: 2026-10-22. “Not stated” means the maker’s page did not say. Prices and coverage change; confirm with the maker.
Things worth asking before you choose
- Which of these does your insurance or Medicare plan cover, and what is your copay? Plans often prefer one brand.
- Does your pump or pen system pair with it? Check the pump maker’s current list as well as the CGM maker’s.
- Does your phone meet the app’s minimum version? Dexcom lists iOS 18.6.0 or Android 13; Abbott’s comparison page did not state versions.
- What is the age cleared? Abbott lists age 2 and older for the Libre 3 Plus; Dexcom lists age 2 and older for the 10-day G7 and adults 18 and older for the 15 Day.
Full pages: FreeStyle Libre 3 Plus and Dexcom G7. See also the CGM comparison and our GMI and time in range calculator for turning a report into numbers.
Frequently asked questions
Are the FreeStyle Libre 3 Plus and Dexcom G7 both prescription CGMs?
Yes. Abbott marks the Libre 3 Plus “for prescription only” and Dexcom’s coupon requires a prescription for the G7.
Which lasts longer, Libre 3 Plus or G7?
Abbott lists 15 days for the Libre 3 Plus. Dexcom lists 10 days for the G7 and 15 days for the G7 15 Day, each with a 12-hour grace period.
Which works with more insulin pumps?
The makers’ pages name different lists. Abbott names Omnipod 5, t:slim X2, iLet and twiist for the Libre 3 Plus. Dexcom names Omnipod 5, iLet and t:slim X2 for the G7 15 Day and says Tandem Mobi is coming soon. Check your pump maker’s page for the current answer.
Does Medicare cover both?
Medicare’s coverage rule applies to a CGM, whichever brand, if you meet the criteria. Abbott states the Libre 3 and Libre 3 Plus are eligible for Medicare reimbursement for people who qualify, and does not guarantee coverage.
Information only, not medical advice. Your care team may set different targets for you, and only a lab test ordered by a clinician can diagnose diabetes or prediabetes. See our medical disclaimer.
Sources
- Abbott: Compare FreeStyle Libre CGM systems (checked 2026-10-22)
- Abbott: FreeStyle Libre cost and coverage (checked 2026-10-22)
- Abbott: Medicare coverage for the FreeStyle Libre 3 system (checked 2026-10-22)
- Dexcom provider FAQ: G7 and G7 15 Day (checked 2026-10-22)
- Dexcom: G7 and G7 15 Day (checked 2026-10-22)
- Dexcom: G7 app and device compatibility (checked 2026-10-22)
- Dexcom: CGM cost without insurance (checked 2026-10-22)
Last reviewed: by the Diabetes Blogs editorial team. Information only, not medical advice.
