FreeStyle Libre 3 Plus: Who It Is For, Price and Coverage

By the Diabetes Blogs editorial teamLast reviewed

FreeStyle Libre 3 Plus is a prescription CGM. Cleared for people with diabetes, age 2 and older Below are the maker’s own statements on wear time, warm-up, phone needs, pumps and price, each checked on 2026-10-22.

The facts at a glance

FactFreeStyle Libre 3 Plus
Prescription or over the counterPrescription
Who it is for (maker)Cleared for people with diabetes, age 2 and older
Wear time15 days
Warm-up60 minutes
Phone and appAbbott's comparison page does not state phone requirements; check Abbott's app compatibility page before buying.
Insulin pump / AID compatibility (maker)Omnipod 5, t:slim X2, iLet Bionic Pancreas, twiist. Abbott lists these as authorized AID systems.
Price (maker)No list price on Abbott's pages. Commercially insured or uninsured patients asked to pay more than $75 for two sensors can use Abbott's copay card. The card is not available to Medicare, Medicaid or other federal or state program members.
MedicareAbbott states the Libre 3 and Libre 3 Plus sensor and reader are eligible for Medicare reimbursement for people who meet Medicare's criteria. Abbott does not guarantee payment or coverage.

Each fact is from the maker’s own page, checked FreeStyle Libre 3 Plus: 2026-10-22. “Not stated” means the maker’s page did not say. Prices and coverage change; confirm with the maker.

Who it is cleared for

Cleared for people with diabetes, age 2 and older A CGM is cleared by the FDA for specific uses, and the maker’s label is the final word. Your clinician decides whether it fits your treatment plan.

Wear time and warm-up

Wear time: 15 days. Warm-up: 60 minutes. A warm-up is the period after you start a sensor when it does not yet show glucose readings. Start a sensor when you can wait that long, and keep a backup meter if your care team advises one.

Phone and app

Abbott's comparison page does not state phone requirements; check Abbott's app compatibility page before buying.

Insulin pump and AID compatibility

The maker names: Omnipod 5, t:slim X2, iLet Bionic Pancreas, twiist. Abbott lists these as authorized AID systems. Compatibility depends on the pump model and software, so check the pump maker’s page too.

Price

No list price on Abbott's pages. Commercially insured or uninsured patients asked to pay more than $75 for two sensors can use Abbott's copay card. The card is not available to Medicare, Medicaid or other federal or state program members.

Our supply cost calculator lets you enter your own insurance numbers and compare cash with insured cost.

Medicare

Abbott states the Libre 3 and Libre 3 Plus sensor and reader are eligible for Medicare reimbursement for people who meet Medicare's criteria. Abbott does not guarantee payment or coverage.

Medicare’s own rules are on Does Medicare cover a CGM?

More from the maker

  • Abbott's page marks this product “for prescription only”. A clinician has to order it.
  • Abbott also offers a one-time free-sensor trial to eligible patients; Medicare, Medicaid and Kaiser members are excluded from that offer.

What to do with the readings

A CGM report lets you work out a GMI and time in range, and you can keep notes in the private blood sugar log. Bring the report to your care team. See every device side by side in the CGM comparison.

Frequently asked questions

Does FreeStyle Libre 3 Plus need a prescription?

Yes. The maker describes it as a prescription device, so a clinician has to order it.

Who is FreeStyle Libre 3 Plus for?

Cleared for people with diabetes, age 2 and older

How much does FreeStyle Libre 3 Plus cost?

No list price on Abbott's pages. Commercially insured or uninsured patients asked to pay more than $75 for two sensors can use Abbott's copay card. The card is not available to Medicare, Medicaid or other federal or state program members.

Does Medicare cover FreeStyle Libre 3 Plus?

Abbott states the Libre 3 and Libre 3 Plus sensor and reader are eligible for Medicare reimbursement for people who meet Medicare's criteria. Abbott does not guarantee payment or coverage.

Information only, not medical advice. Your care team may set different targets for you, and only a lab test ordered by a clinician can diagnose diabetes or prediabetes. See our medical disclaimer.

Sources

Last reviewed: by the Diabetes Blogs editorial team. Information only, not medical advice.

Related tools and guides