CGM Comparison Table and “Which Fits Me” Finder

By the Diabetes Blogs editorial teamLast reviewed

Six continuous glucose monitor (CGM) products, side by side, using only what each maker states. Filter the table, or answer four questions to see which devices match the facts. Nothing is ranked.

Filter the table

DeviceRx or OTCWho it is for (maker)WearWarm-upPumps named by makerPrice (maker)
FreeStyle Libre 3 PlusRxCleared for people with diabetes, age 2 and older15 days60 minutesOmnipod 5, t:slim X2, iLet Bionic Pancreas, twiistNo list price on Abbott's pages. Commercially insured or uninsured patients asked to pay more than $75 for two sensors can use Abbott's copay card. The card is not available to Medicare, Medicaid or other federal or state program members.
Dexcom G7 and G7 15 DayRxG7 (10-day): people two years and older with any type of diabetes. G7 15 Day: adults 18 and older with type 1, type 2 or gestational diabetes.G7: 10 days plus a 12-hour grace period. G7 15 Day: 15 days plus a 12-hour grace periodG7: 30 minutes. G7 15 Day: 60 minutesOmnipod 5 (15 Day), iLet Bionic Pancreas (15 Day), t:slim X2 (15 Day)Dexcom publishes no cash price. Its coupon says “Save $210+ on every 30-day supply of sensors” for people without CGM coverage or with a high copay, and requires a prescription. Dexcom's G7 page says most covered patients pay $20 or less per month.
Dexcom SteloOTCAdults 18 and older who are not on insulin. Dexcom says not to use it if you have problematic hypoglycemia.About 15 daysNot stated on Stelo's pageNone named$89.00 per month on subscription (listed as down from $99.00). HSA/FSA eligible. A one-time purchase price was not shown.
Abbott LingoOTCAdults 18 and older who are not on insulin. Abbott says it is not intended for diagnosis of diseases, including diabetes.Up to 14 daysNot stated on Lingo's pageNone named$54 for the 2-week plan; it does not auto-renew. Free shipping and a 30-day money-back guarantee on a first purchase. HSA/FSA eligible. About $116 per 30 days if bought back to back (our arithmetic, not Abbott's).
FreeStyle Libre Rio
Sale not confirmed
OTCFDA-cleared as Abbott's over-the-counter CGM for adults 18 and older with type 2 diabetes who do not use insulin (Abbott announcement, June 25, 2024).Not stated by AbbottNot stated by AbbottNone namedNo price stated by Abbott.
Eversense 365RxAdults 18 and older with diabetes (prescription device).1 year (implanted sensor)Not stated on the Eversense pagetwiistCosts depend on the insurance plan. With commercial insurance you “may be eligible to pay as little as $199 for a full year”; the offer does not cover the insertion and removal procedures.

Which fits the facts I gave?

How to read this

  • Prescription (Rx) means a clinician orders it, which is usually what insurance and Medicare require. Over the counter (OTC) means you can buy it yourself.
  • Pumps named by maker lists only systems the maker’s page names. “None named” can mean the page did not say, not that it is incompatible.
  • Price is the maker’s statement, not a quote from your plan. The finder only compares your budget with prices a maker publishes; devices with no published monthly price stay in the list with a note.

See the over-the-counter CGM guide, Dexcom G7 vs Stelo, FreeStyle Libre 3 Plus vs Dexcom G7, and Medicare coverage. Turn a CGM report into GMI and time in range, and keep notes in the blood sugar log.

Frequently asked questions

Which CGMs can I buy without a prescription?

Dexcom Stelo and Abbott Lingo are sold over the counter, for adults 18 and older who are not on insulin. Abbott’s Libre Rio is FDA-cleared as an over-the-counter CGM, but we could not confirm it is on sale.

Which CGMs are for people who use insulin?

The prescription systems: FreeStyle Libre 3 Plus, Dexcom G7 and G7 15 Day, and Eversense 365. The over-the-counter ones are for people not on insulin.

Does this table rank CGMs?

No. It lists what each maker states, side by side. There is no “best” here, because the right device depends on your treatment, coverage, phone and preferences.

How current is the data?

Each device row was checked against the maker’s own pages on the date shown on its page. Prices and coverage change, so confirm with the maker.

Information only, not medical advice. Your care team may set different targets for you, and only a lab test ordered by a clinician can diagnose diabetes or prediabetes. See our medical disclaimer.

Sources

Last reviewed: by the Diabetes Blogs editorial team. Information only, not medical advice.

Related tools and guides