Abbott Lingo: Who It Is For, Price and Coverage

By the Diabetes Blogs editorial teamLast reviewed

Abbott Lingo is sold over the counter. The maker’s page says: adults 18 and older who are not on insulin. Abbott says it is not intended for diagnosis of diseases, including diabetes. Below are the maker’s own statements on wear time, warm-up, phone needs, pumps and price, each checked on 2026-10-22.

The facts at a glance

FactAbbott Lingo
Prescription or over the counterOver the counter (no prescription)
Who it is for (maker)Adults 18 and older who are not on insulin. Abbott says it is not intended for diagnosis of diseases, including diabetes.
Wear timeUp to 14 days
Warm-upNot stated on Lingo's page
Phone and appWorks with iOS and Android. The Lingo app is needed for full access.
Insulin pump / AID compatibility (maker)Not for people on insulin, so not used with pumps.
Price (maker)$54 for the 2-week plan; it does not auto-renew. Free shipping and a 30-day money-back guarantee on a first purchase. HSA/FSA eligible. About $116 per 30 days if bought back to back (our arithmetic, not Abbott's).
MedicareLingo is sold over the counter for general wellness, not for diagnosing or treating diabetes. We found no Medicare coverage statement for it.

Each fact is from the maker’s own page, checked Abbott Lingo: 2026-10-22. “Not stated” means the maker’s page did not say. Prices and coverage change; confirm with the maker.

Who it is cleared for

Adults 18 and older who are not on insulin. Abbott says it is not intended for diagnosis of diseases, including diabetes. A CGM is cleared by the FDA for specific uses, and the maker’s label is the final word. Over-the-counter sensors are built for people who do not use insulin. If you take insulin, a prescription system is the kind cleared for that.

Wear time and warm-up

Wear time: Up to 14 days. Warm-up: Not stated on Lingo's page. A warm-up is the period after you start a sensor when it does not yet show glucose readings. Start a sensor when you can wait that long, and keep a backup meter if your care team advises one.

Phone and app

Works with iOS and Android. The Lingo app is needed for full access.

Insulin pump and AID compatibility

Not for people on insulin, so not used with pumps. Compatibility depends on the pump model and software, so check the pump maker’s page too.

Price

$54 for the 2-week plan; it does not auto-renew. Free shipping and a 30-day money-back guarantee on a first purchase. HSA/FSA eligible. About $116 per 30 days if bought back to back (our arithmetic, not Abbott's).

Our supply cost calculator lets you enter your own insurance numbers and compare cash with insured cost.

Medicare

Lingo is sold over the counter for general wellness, not for diagnosing or treating diabetes. We found no Medicare coverage statement for it.

Medicare’s own rules are on Does Medicare cover a CGM?

More from the maker

  • Abbott's launch announcement (June 25, 2024) describes Lingo as aimed at people looking to improve overall health and wellness.

What to do with the readings

A CGM report lets you work out a GMI and time in range, and you can keep notes in the private blood sugar log. Bring the report to your care team. See every device side by side in the CGM comparison.

Frequently asked questions

Does Abbott Lingo need a prescription?

No. The maker sells it over the counter. Check the maker’s page for current terms.

Who is Abbott Lingo for?

Adults 18 and older who are not on insulin. Abbott says it is not intended for diagnosis of diseases, including diabetes.

How much does Abbott Lingo cost?

$54 for the 2-week plan; it does not auto-renew. Free shipping and a 30-day money-back guarantee on a first purchase. HSA/FSA eligible. About $116 per 30 days if bought back to back (our arithmetic, not Abbott's).

Does Medicare cover Abbott Lingo?

Lingo is sold over the counter for general wellness, not for diagnosing or treating diabetes. We found no Medicare coverage statement for it.

Information only, not medical advice. Your care team may set different targets for you, and only a lab test ordered by a clinician can diagnose diabetes or prediabetes. See our medical disclaimer.

Sources

Last reviewed: by the Diabetes Blogs editorial team. Information only, not medical advice.

Related tools and guides