Over-the-Counter CGM: What Is Sold Without a Prescription

By the Diabetes Blogs editorial teamLast reviewed

Two continuous glucose monitors are sold over the counter in the US today: Dexcom Stelo ($89 a month on subscription) and Abbott Lingo ($54 for two weeks). Both are for adults 18 and older who are not on insulin. Abbott’s Libre Rio is FDA-cleared but we could not confirm it is on sale.

The over-the-counter options compared

FactDexcom SteloAbbott LingoFreeStyle Libre Rio
Prescription or over the counterOver the counter (no prescription)Over the counter (no prescription)Over the counter (no prescription)
Who it is for (maker)Adults 18 and older who are not on insulin. Dexcom says not to use it if you have problematic hypoglycemia.Adults 18 and older who are not on insulin. Abbott says it is not intended for diagnosis of diseases, including diabetes.FDA-cleared as Abbott's over-the-counter CGM for adults 18 and older with type 2 diabetes who do not use insulin (Abbott announcement, June 25, 2024).
Wear timeAbout 15 daysUp to 14 daysNot stated by Abbott
Warm-upNot stated on Stelo's pageNot stated on Lingo's pageNot stated by Abbott
Phone and appStelo says a compatible smartphone is required to pair a new sensor with an Apple Watch and points to a compatibility page for app details. We did not read minimum versions.Works with iOS and Android. The Lingo app is needed for full access.Not stated by Abbott
Insulin pump / AID compatibility (maker)Not for people on insulin, so not used with pumps.Not for people on insulin, so not used with pumps.Not for people on insulin.
Price (maker)$89.00 per month on subscription (listed as down from $99.00). HSA/FSA eligible. A one-time purchase price was not shown.$54 for the 2-week plan; it does not auto-renew. Free shipping and a 30-day money-back guarantee on a first purchase. HSA/FSA eligible. About $116 per 30 days if bought back to back (our arithmetic, not Abbott's).No price stated by Abbott.
MedicareStelo is sold over the counter. Medicare's CGM rules (LCD L33822) cover prescribed CGMs for insulin-treated people or those with problematic lows, and Stelo is not for people on insulin. We found no statement from Medicare or Dexcom that Part B pays for Stelo.Lingo is sold over the counter for general wellness, not for diagnosing or treating diabetes. We found no Medicare coverage statement for it.No Medicare statement found.

Each fact is from the maker’s own pages, checked Dexcom Stelo: 2026-10-22; Abbott Lingo: 2026-10-22; FreeStyle Libre Rio: 2026-10-22. “Not stated” means the maker’s page did not say. Prices and coverage change; confirm with the maker.

What “without a prescription” means

You can order the sensor yourself from the maker, and no clinician has to write an order. That is the difference from prescription systems such as the FreeStyle Libre 3 Plus or Dexcom G7. It does not mean the device is cleared for everyone: each maker limits it to adults not on insulin, and the sensors are cleared by the FDA for that use.

Cost

Stelo’s page lists $89.00 per month on subscription (down from $99.00) and says it is HSA/FSA eligible. Lingo’s page lists $54 for a 2-week plan with no auto-renewal and a 30-day money-back guarantee on a first purchase; bought back to back that is about $116 per 30 days (our arithmetic). Libre Rio has no published price we could verify. Use the supply cost calculator to add these to your own monthly total.

Coverage

Medicare’s coverage rule (LCD L33822) is for prescribed CGMs for people who are insulin-treated or have a history of problematic low blood sugar, so it does not describe these devices. See Does Medicare cover a CGM? for the rule in full. Private plans vary: ask yours.

Using the numbers

A sensor shows a trend, not a verdict. Paste readings into the GMI and time in range calculator to see your share in range, or log notes in the private blood sugar log. Share the report with your care team, who can tell you what the numbers mean for you. For all devices, see the CGM comparison.

Frequently asked questions

Can I get a CGM without a prescription?

Yes, for adults 18 and older who are not on insulin. Dexcom Stelo and Abbott Lingo are sold over the counter, and Abbott’s Libre Rio is FDA-cleared as an over-the-counter CGM though we could not confirm it is on sale.

Are over-the-counter CGMs for people with diabetes?

Stelo and Libre Rio are described by their makers for adults not on insulin, including people with type 2 diabetes in Libre Rio’s case. Lingo is aimed at general wellness and Abbott says it is not for diagnosing diabetes. Ask your care team how a sensor fits your plan.

Can I use an over-the-counter CGM if I take insulin?

The makers say these devices are for people not on insulin. Dexcom also says not to use Stelo if you have problematic hypoglycemia. People on insulin use prescription systems.

Will insurance or Medicare pay for an over-the-counter CGM?

We found no Medicare or maker statement that Medicare pays for Stelo or Lingo. Medicare’s CGM rules cover prescribed devices for people who use insulin or have problematic lows. Both makers say their products are HSA/FSA eligible.

Can an over-the-counter CGM diagnose diabetes?

No. Abbott says Lingo is not intended for diagnosis of diseases including diabetes, and Dexcom says not to take medical action from Stelo without talking to a healthcare professional. Only a lab test ordered by a clinician diagnoses diabetes.

Information only, not medical advice. Your care team may set different targets for you, and only a lab test ordered by a clinician can diagnose diabetes or prediabetes. See our medical disclaimer.

Sources

Last reviewed: by the Diabetes Blogs editorial team. Information only, not medical advice.

Related tools and guides