FreeStyle Libre Rio: Who It Is For, Price and Coverage

By the Diabetes Blogs editorial teamLast reviewed

FreeStyle Libre Rio is sold over the counter. The maker’s page says: fDA-cleared as Abbott's over-the-counter CGM for adults 18 and older with type 2 diabetes who do not use insulin (Abbott announcement, June 25, 2024). Below are the maker’s own statements on wear time, warm-up, phone needs, pumps and price, each checked on 2026-10-22.

Sale not confirmed. We could not confirm that Libre Rio is on sale. Abbott's 2024 announcement says it is FDA-cleared but gives no launch date, a direct Abbott product page returned an error on 2026-10-22, and Abbott's CGM comparison page does not list it. Third-party sites disagree. Treat it as cleared, with availability unconfirmed, and check Abbott before relying on it.

The facts at a glance

FactFreeStyle Libre Rio
Prescription or over the counterOver the counter (no prescription)
Who it is for (maker)FDA-cleared as Abbott's over-the-counter CGM for adults 18 and older with type 2 diabetes who do not use insulin (Abbott announcement, June 25, 2024).
Wear timeNot stated by Abbott
Warm-upNot stated by Abbott
Phone and appNot stated by Abbott
Insulin pump / AID compatibility (maker)Not for people on insulin.
Price (maker)No price stated by Abbott.
MedicareNo Medicare statement found.

Each fact is from the maker’s own page, checked FreeStyle Libre Rio: 2026-10-22. “Not stated” means the maker’s page did not say. Prices and coverage change; confirm with the maker.

Who it is cleared for

FDA-cleared as Abbott's over-the-counter CGM for adults 18 and older with type 2 diabetes who do not use insulin (Abbott announcement, June 25, 2024). A CGM is cleared by the FDA for specific uses, and the maker’s label is the final word. Over-the-counter sensors are built for people who do not use insulin. If you take insulin, a prescription system is the kind cleared for that.

Wear time and warm-up

Wear time: Not stated by Abbott. Warm-up: Not stated by Abbott. A warm-up is the period after you start a sensor when it does not yet show glucose readings. Start a sensor when you can wait that long, and keep a backup meter if your care team advises one.

Phone and app

Not stated by Abbott

Insulin pump and AID compatibility

Not for people on insulin. Compatibility depends on the pump model and software, so check the pump maker’s page too.

Price

No price stated by Abbott.

Our supply cost calculator lets you enter your own insurance numbers and compare cash with insured cost.

Medicare

No Medicare statement found.

Medicare’s own rules are on Does Medicare cover a CGM?

What to do with the readings

A CGM report lets you work out a GMI and time in range, and you can keep notes in the private blood sugar log. Bring the report to your care team. See every device side by side in the CGM comparison.

Frequently asked questions

Does FreeStyle Libre Rio need a prescription?

No. The maker sells it over the counter. Check the maker’s page for current terms.

Who is FreeStyle Libre Rio for?

FDA-cleared as Abbott's over-the-counter CGM for adults 18 and older with type 2 diabetes who do not use insulin (Abbott announcement, June 25, 2024).

How much does FreeStyle Libre Rio cost?

No price stated by Abbott.

Does Medicare cover FreeStyle Libre Rio?

No Medicare statement found.

Information only, not medical advice. Your care team may set different targets for you, and only a lab test ordered by a clinician can diagnose diabetes or prediabetes. See our medical disclaimer.

Sources

Last reviewed: by the Diabetes Blogs editorial team. Information only, not medical advice.

Related tools and guides