Dexcom G7 vs Stelo: What Each Maker Says
Same company, different products: the Dexcom G7 is a prescription CGM that includes people who use insulin, and Stelo is sold over the counter for adults who are not on insulin. The table below sets out each fact from Dexcom’s own pages. Neither is ranked.
Side by side
| Fact | Dexcom G7 and G7 15 Day | Dexcom Stelo |
|---|---|---|
| Prescription or over the counter | Prescription | Over the counter (no prescription) |
| Who it is for (maker) | G7 (10-day): people two years and older with any type of diabetes. G7 15 Day: adults 18 and older with type 1, type 2 or gestational diabetes. | Adults 18 and older who are not on insulin. Dexcom says not to use it if you have problematic hypoglycemia. |
| Wear time | G7: 10 days plus a 12-hour grace period. G7 15 Day: 15 days plus a 12-hour grace period | About 15 days |
| Warm-up | G7: 30 minutes. G7 15 Day: 60 minutes | Not stated on Stelo's page |
| Phone and app | Dexcom's G7 app page lists a minimum of iOS 18.6.0 or Android 13 (as read on 2026-10-22). A separate Dexcom receiver exists. | Stelo says a compatible smartphone is required to pair a new sensor with an Apple Watch and points to a compatibility page for app details. We did not read minimum versions. |
| Insulin pump / AID compatibility (maker) | Omnipod 5 (15 Day), iLet Bionic Pancreas (15 Day), t:slim X2 (15 Day). Dexcom's provider FAQ lists these for the 15 Day sensor and says Tandem Mobi compatibility is “coming soon”. Dexcom says the G7 connects to “a wide range of compatible pumps”; check dexcom.com/compatibility for the full current list. | Not for people on insulin, so not used with pumps. |
| Price (maker) | Dexcom publishes no cash price. Its coupon says “Save $210+ on every 30-day supply of sensors” for people without CGM coverage or with a high copay, and requires a prescription. Dexcom's G7 page says most covered patients pay $20 or less per month. | $89.00 per month on subscription (listed as down from $99.00). HSA/FSA eligible. A one-time purchase price was not shown. |
| Medicare | Medicare coverage follows the CMS rules on the Medicare page (insulin-treated or problematic low blood sugar, prescription, visit within six months). We found no Dexcom statement that changes this. | Stelo is sold over the counter. Medicare's CGM rules (LCD L33822) cover prescribed CGMs for insulin-treated people or those with problematic lows, and Stelo is not for people on insulin. We found no statement from Medicare or Dexcom that Part B pays for Stelo. |
Each fact is from the maker’s own pages, checked Dexcom G7 and G7 15 Day: 2026-10-22; Dexcom Stelo: 2026-10-22. “Not stated” means the maker’s page did not say. Prices and coverage change; confirm with the maker.
The practical differences
- Prescription. The G7 is ordered by a clinician. Stelo is bought directly.
- Insulin. Stelo is for adults not on insulin, and Dexcom says not to use it with problematic hypoglycemia. The G7 is cleared for people with diabetes who use insulin or not, down to age two for the 10-day sensor.
- Pumps. Dexcom names pumps for the G7 15 Day; Stelo is not used with insulin pumps.
- Wear. The G7 is a 10-day sensor and the G7 15 Day lasts 15 days; Stelo is about 15 days. Dexcom’s footnotes say not every sensor lasts the full time (73.9% of G7 15 Day sensors and 77.9% of Stelo sensors in its studies).
- Coverage. The G7 follows the Medicare CGM rules if you qualify. We found no statement that Medicare pays for Stelo.
Full pages: Dexcom G7 and Dexcom Stelo. All devices: CGM comparison. Try your own costs in the supply cost calculator.
Frequently asked questions
What is the main difference between Dexcom G7 and Stelo?
Both are made by Dexcom. The G7 and G7 15 Day are prescription systems, including for people who use insulin. Stelo is sold over the counter for adults 18 and older who are not on insulin.
Do I need a prescription for Stelo?
No. Dexcom sells Stelo over the counter. The G7 needs a prescription.
Can I use Stelo with an insulin pump?
Stelo is for people who are not on insulin, so it is not used with pumps. Dexcom names pumps for the G7 15 Day (Omnipod 5, iLet and t:slim X2).
Which costs less?
Dexcom lists Stelo at $89 a month. It publishes no cash price for the G7, only a cash coupon and a statement that most covered patients pay $20 or less per month. A price depends on your coverage, so we do not name a cheaper one.
Information only, not medical advice. Your care team may set different targets for you, and only a lab test ordered by a clinician can diagnose diabetes or prediabetes. See our medical disclaimer.
Sources
- Dexcom provider FAQ: G7 and G7 15 Day (checked 2026-10-22)
- Dexcom: G7 and G7 15 Day (checked 2026-10-22)
- Dexcom: G7 app and device compatibility (checked 2026-10-22)
- Dexcom: CGM cost without insurance (checked 2026-10-22)
- Dexcom: Stelo (checked 2026-10-22)
- CMS: Local Coverage Determination L33822, Glucose Monitors
Last reviewed: by the Diabetes Blogs editorial team. Information only, not medical advice.
